Live chat by BoldChat

Best Rated Cultural Sites by Members

San Anton Gardens Attard 10.00
Palazzo Parisio Naxxar 10.00
St. John’s Cathedral Valletta 10.00
Casa Rocca Piccola Valletta 9.00
Palazzo Parisio Naxxar 9.00
Upper Barrakka Gardens Valletta 9.00
Lower Barrakka Gardens Valletta 9.00
Buskett Garden Buskett 9.00
Chinese Garden of Serenity Santa Lucija 8.50
Għar Dalam Cave and Museum Birzebbuga 8.00

The Banca Giuratale

The town hall in Victoria's main square

The Banca Giuratale is located in the main square of Victoria, in the capital town of Gozo. The square where it is located is locally known as ‘It-Tokk’, officially named Independence Square. The Banca Giuratale used to be the seat of the ‘Universitas’ or the local government for the islands of Gozo and Comino during the time of the Aragonese, and that’s why it is still called Banca Giuratale (or town hall). At that time, outside the Banca Giuratale was a bench used by magistrates to pass sentences in minor litigations. For major disputes the Court of Law was used, still in its place today.

In Malta there were two other ‘Universitas’, one in Valletta and one in Mdina. This type of government was composed of the Capitano della Verga and four Jurats elected by the people. This administration system was established in 1397 and abolished in 1819 by the British Governor Sir Thomas Maitland. 

After 1819, Banca Giuratale was used to house various government departments such as the main Police Station, the Post Office, the Public Archives, the Gozo Civic Council and the Agriculture Department. Nowadays, there is the Culture Section and Information Section on the ground floor, while the first floor is the seat of the Victoria Local Council


Victoria-Gozo Building Fortification Independence Square, Victoria, Gozo UNESCO site ? no
Average rate: 0.00   |   Votes: 0   |   Please login or register in order to rate

Post your comment

Please login or register in order to write a comment

Comments of Members

No comments yet.